AustLit logo
Mona Brand Short Story Competition
or Mona Brand Award ; or Mona Brand Award for Women Stage and Screen Writers
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The inaugural Mona Brand Award will be presented in November 2016 to “an outstanding Australian woman writing for the stage or screen,” and presented biennially thereafter. As well as this major award for a body of work valued at $30,000, an additional award of $10,000 will be presented to an emerging female writer who is in the early stages of her career for her first substantial produced/screened work.

'This will be the only award of its kind in Australia and was made possible through a bequest to the State Library of NSW Foundation by the late Mona Alexis Fox nee Brand (1915–2007). Mona Brand was a trailblazing Australian poet, author and a prolific playwright, writing nearly 30 plays. Her work, which often addressed socially relevant and controversial topics has been performed on stage, radio and television in Australia, England, Eastern Europe and India.

'In 2002 the Library acquired her papers, which include professional and personal correspondence, diaries, manuscripts photographs and sound and video recordings as well as many other records of her remarkable life and career. As the custodian of this important collection it is fitting that the State Library will administer and present this award, which will not only honour the rich legacy Mona Brand imparted but will also celebrate the best of contemporary writing for stage and screen by Australian women.'

Source: State Library of New South Wales ( (Sighted: 08/11/2016)

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2018

winner (Emerging Writer Award) Lucy Knox

Year: 2016

inaugural winner Joanna Murray-Smith
inaugural winner (Emerging Writer) Jada Alberts
winner Precipice Beverley Lello , 2016 single work short story
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2016 2016; (p. 51-57)