AustLit logo
Medal for Excellence in Translation
Subcategory of Australian Academy of the Humanities
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Medal for Excellence in Translation is a national award inaugurated in 2016, and awarded every two years.

'This award celebrates the vital role of translators and translation in Australian culture and scholarly discourse. It adds to the growing recognition of work in this field which recognises lifetime achievement.' (

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2020

winner Penny Hueston for 'Being Here: The Life of Paula Modersohn-Becker'.

Year: 2018

winner Julie Rose for translation of Simon Leys: Naviagator Between Worlds.

Year: 2016

inaugural winner John Minford