AustLit logo
Ros Spencer Poetry Prize
or Ros Spencer Poetry Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


A poetry contest from WA Poets Inc. for original and unpublished poems of up to 60 lines with an open theme. The award is supported by Geoff Spencer and family in recognition of the courage, character and commitment of Ros Spencer. 

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

winner David Atkinson for 'Gang-gang'.

Year: 2020

winner Glen Phillips for 'Again'.

Year: 2019

winner 'Jackson' for Split and Shaped

Year: 2018

winner Melissa Harrison for Wild Olives

Year: 2017

winner Julie Watts for 'Earthquake'.