AustLit logo
Silver Gull Play Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Inaugurated in 2015, the Silver Gull Play Award was originally presented by production company subtlenuance and supported by The Buzz in Sydney. It recognises an outstanding play by a local writer that explores philosophical or political themes. 

In 2020, it moved to New Theatre, Sydney, retaining the sponsorship of The Buzz.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2020

winner Jamie Oxenbould for 'Gods and Little Fishes' (with Richard Sydenham).
winner Richard Sydenham for 'Gods and Little Fishes' (with Jamie Oxenbould).

Year: 2019

winner Joanna Erskine for 'Field of Vision'.

Year: 2018

winner Phillip James Rouse for 'Lions and Tigers and Bears'.

Year: 2017

winner Zoe Cooper For 'For Unknown Reasons'.

Year: 2016

winner Joanna Erskine for 'People Will Think You Don’t Love Me.