AustLit logo
Varuna Residential Fellowships
Subcategory of Varuna Awards and Fellowships Varuna Fellowships
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2022

recipient Adele Dumont for essay collection ‘Bezoar’
recipient Renée Treml for children’s graphic novel ‘Breathe’
recipient Stephen Carleton for playscript ‘Brutal Utopias’
recipient Liz Evans for ‘Catherine Wheel’
recipient Benjamin Hickey for suspense novel ‘Common Ruin’
recipient Rachel Bowen for YA novel ‘Hyena’
recipient Kylie Ladd for commercial fiction ‘I’ll Leave You With This’
recipient Gurmeet Kaur for poetry collection ‘Instructions on English’
recipient Tanya Davies for fantasy/speculative fiction ‘Killing Widows’
recipient Robyn Cadwallader for historical fiction ‘Not Less Than Anything’
recipient Hugh McGonagle for novel ‘Peninsula’
recipient Rebecca Giggs for narrative nonfiction ‘PET: The future of the animals we keep’
recipient Kelly Gardiner for YA novel ‘Roar’
recipient Catherine Moffat for crime novel ‘Snapper Point’
recipient Carol Major for novel ‘The Chinese Woman’
recipient Chris Womersley for novel ‘The Empire’
recipient Amanda Curtin for historical fiction ‘The Longhair Fella’
recipient Katia Ariel for memoir ‘The Swift Dark Tide’
recipient Michelle Michau-Crawford for novel ‘What’s Home Supposed to Mean, Anyway?’
recipient Sian Campbell for novel ‘When This is All Over’
recipient Bruce Nash for novel ‘Woman Without a Password’
recipient Sonia Orchard for creative nonfiction ‘Womankind’
recipient Jannali Jones for YA novel ‘Yenda’.

Year: 2021

recipient Amy Lovat for ‘Halfway to Nowhere’
recipient Andrew Y.M. Kwong for ‘Wrong Arrival’
recipient Anne Casey-Hardy for ‘When Bees Become Diamonds’
recipient Annie Barrett for ‘Sent Up the River’
recipient Beth Amos for ‘Blindside’
recipient Brooke Robinson for ‘Hotel K’
recipient Donna Cameron for ‘Until the Sky Turns Purple’
recipient Eliza Henry-Jones for ‘The Waning’
recipient Emily Brugman for ‘The Islands’
recipient Frances Olive for ‘Cora in the Underworld’
recipient Hoa Pham for ‘Being’
recipient Jack Vening for ‘Who Will I Be When I Leave This Place’
recipient James McKenzie Watson for ‘Denizen’
recipient Juliet Paine for ‘The Premonition Bureau’
recipient Lou Garcia-Dolnik for ‘No Language’
recipient Mary Anne Butler for ‘Epoch of the Heart’
recipient Maryrose Cuskelly for ‘The Campers’
recipient Natalie Satakovski for ‘Follow’
recipient Polly Watkins for ‘Moss Whitaker lives in his head’
recipient Suzanne Leal for ‘A Runner in Hitler’s Town’
recipient Tim Loveday for ‘the birds are singing while we sleep’
recipient Warren Ward for ‘Lovers of Philosophy’
recipient Yves Rees for ‘All About Yves: Notes from a Transition’

Year: 2016