AustLit logo
Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


This award was originally run as a joint venture between Scribe Publications and Express Media (as the Scribe Non-Fiction Prize for Young Writers): open to writers aged 30 or under who are working on a longform work in any nonfiction genre, including memoir, journalism, essay, biography, and creative nonfiction, for works between 5,000 and 10,000 words.

In 2019, the award was re-named the Deakin University NonFiction Prize, to mark the new collaboration between Deakin University and Express Media. For winners from 2019 onwards, see Deakin University Nonfiction Prize.

Sources include award website and Express Media.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2018

winner Zowie Douglas-Kinghorn forThe Invisible Sea

Year: 2017

Year: 2015

winner y separately published work icon Lion Attack! Oliver Mol , Brunswick : Scribe , 2015 8074138 2015 single work prose

'An exuberant memoir from an original new voice.

'Oliver is a writer who’s just moved to Melbourne. He doesn’t have any friends yet; he can’t get his surly flatmate, Mark, to crack a smile; and the only ones who will talk to him are the odd assortment of characters at the KeepCup warehouse where he works.

'Oliver is lonely. Oliver is sleepwalking through life. Then he meets Lisa, and things begin to change.

'In the tradition of Sam Pink and Tao Lin comes a startlingly original, ambitious work of creative non-fiction that explores love, sex, and meaning in the age of Gen Y. Part romance, part tragicomedy, and part social critique, Lion Attack! is a hilarious contemporary coming-of-age story by a brilliant new writer.' (Publication summary)

Year: 2014

winner Birds and Knives Robbie Arnott , 2019 single work autobiography
— Appears in: Meanjin , Summer vol. 78 no. 4 2019; (p. 146-153)