AustLit logo
Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award
Subcategory of Quill Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'For more than 40 years, the Perkin Award has been the most coveted prize in Australian journalism, recognising the most outstanding individual working in all media. The award honours the memory of celebrated Age editor Graham Perkin and includes a $20,000 cash prize.' (

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2016

Year: 2009

winner Gary Hughes 'For his first-person piece on surviving the [Black Saturday] bushfire.'

Year: 2008

Year: 2007

Year: 2006

winner Tony Koch

Works About this Award

Age Investigative Reporter Wins Top Honor at Quills 2016 single work column
— Appears in: The Saturday Age , 19-20 March 2016; (p. 2)