AustLit logo
Zana Fraillon Zana Fraillon i(A127710 works by)
Gender: Female
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Zana Fraillon was born in Melbourne, but spent her early childhood in San Francisco. At the age of twenty, she lived for a year in China teaching English in a remote rural area. She has since returned to Melbourne, where she was a PhD candidate in Creative Writing at LaTrobe University.

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2021 highly commended Kuracca Prize for Australian Literature for 'A Map of Passings' and 'The Gargoyle'.

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon The Lost Soul Atlas Sydney : Lothian , 2020 18883072 2020 single work children's fiction children's

'One street-boy's quest to reunite and make amends with his best friend told in an epic story that spans a city, a decade, and the divide of life and death itself. From the award-winning author of The Bone Sparrow.

'A boy awakens in the Afterlife, with a pocketful of vague memories, a key, a raven, and a mysterious Atlas to guide him as he sets out to piece together the mystery of his final moments ...

'Meanwhile on Earth, Twig is alone as a newly-made street kid after his dad goes missing. But when he meets Flea, a cheerful pickpocket, the pair become fast friends, better even than blood family itself. Together, Twig and Flea raise themselves on the crime-ridden streets, taking what they need and giving the rest to the even-poorer. Life is good, as long as they have each other. But the all-powerful Boss who rules the streets has other plans.

'Loyalty will be tested, and a cruel twist of fate will lead to an act of ultimate betrayal. But will it tear the friends apart ... forever?' (Publication summary)

2020 winner Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction Children's Division
2021 shortlisted CBCA Book of the Year Awards Book of the Year: Older Readers
2021 CBCA Book of the Year Awards Notable Book Older Readers
2021 longlisted Indie Awards Young Adult
2021 nominated Carnegie Medal (UK)
y separately published work icon Wisp : A Story of Hope Melbourne : Lothian , 2018 13513284 2018 single work picture book children's

'Idris is a child refugee, born into a world of tents and fences. He has known no other life than this. He has no memories of the world outside.

'Then the Wisp arrives, floating in on the evening breeze. Everyone who holds it finds their memories reawakened, their hopes of freedom reborn. But what about Idris, who has no memories? What will happen when he holds the magical Wisp?'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2020 nominated Kate Greenaway Medal
y separately published work icon The Ones That Disappeared Sydney : Hachette Australia , 2017 11412835 2017 single work novel young adult

'Around the world, millions of people - including many children - are victims of human trafficking. These modern-day slaves often go unseen even in our own cities and towns, their voices silent and their stories untold. In this incredible book, Zana Fraillon imagines the story of three such children, Esra, Miran and Isa. The result is powerful, heartbreaking and unforgettable.

'Esra, Miran and Isa work for the Snakeskin gang, tending to plants in the dark and airless basement of a house they are not allowed to leave. They’ve been told that they belong to the Snakeskins, but Esra knows that she belongs to no one - and she is determined to find freedom. This is a Skellig for this generation; beautiful, magical and with Zana Fraillon’s incredible talent for combining important global issues with extraordinary storytelling.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2018 shortlisted Prime Minister's Literary Awards Young Adults' Fiction
2018 winner New South Wales Premier's Literary Awards Ethel Turner Prize for Young People's Literature
2018 CBCA Book of the Year Awards Notable Book Older Readers
2018 nominated Carnegie Medal (UK)
Last amended 2 Aug 2021 10:16:39
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: