AustLit logo
Craig Cormick Craig Cormick i(A19294 works by)
Born: Established: 1961 Wollongong, Wollongong area, Illawarra, South Coast, New South Wales, ;
Gender: Male
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Craig Cormick spent his early years in Wollongong before moving with his family to Queensland, the Blue Mountains in New South Wales and Canberra in the Australian Capital Territory.

Cormick has been Chair of the ACT Writers Centre (2003-2008), editor of Blast magazine and Series Editor for Ginninderra Press' short fiction imprint Mockingbird Press. In addition to hundreds of short stories, he has written on Finnish folklore and edited a book on Grace Melbourne Baragwanath (1991). In 2007 he was awarded his PhD from Deakin University.

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2021 recipient Order of Australia Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) For service to science, and to the community.
2018 shortlisted The Fair Australia Prize Best MEAA Member Entry

for Saw as we came in on both points of the bay …’

2018 shortlisted The Fair Australia Prize Fiction Prize

for Saw as we came in on both points of the bay

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon The Years of the Wolf Victoria : IFWG Publishing Inc , 2018 14658246 2018 single work novel historical fiction crime

'This story begins with a murder. A German internee is found dead inside a civilian internment camp during World War One, and one young internee, Arno Friedrich, determines to find the killer. But the more he probes into the lives of his fellow internees the more he discovers that little within the old stone prison is as he had imagined. He finds that the Germanic facades and fantasies the men construct hide secrets within secrets. And a killer.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2019 highly commended ACT Writing and Publishing Awards Fiction
2018 shortlisted Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction Horror Division Novel
y separately published work icon Backseat Drivers Adelaide : Ginninderra Press , 2018 13457738 2018 single work prose

'It’s a fact not yet universally acknowledged, that everybody should at some point in their lives attempt to follow in the footsteps of the explorers Hume and Hovell down the Hume Highway, preferably in the company of Captain Cook, Henry Lawson, Caroline Chisholm and Ned Kelly. Backseat Drivers is a hilarious and biting satire on the intersection and byways of the past, the present and the future.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2019 winner ACT Writers Centre's Literary Awards Nonfiction
No Man Is an Island 2016 single work short story
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2016 2016; (p. 29-37)
2016 winner Tasmanian Writers’ Prize
Last amended 14 Jun 2021 16:09:03
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: