AustLit logo
NLA image of person
Gail Jones Gail Jones i(A26750 works by)
Born: Established: 1955 Harvey, Harvey area, Mandurah - Harvey area, Far Southwest Western Australia, Western Australia, ;
Gender: Female
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Gail Jones was educated at the University of Western Australia (UWA), later joining the staff as an Associate Professor in the English Department there. In 2001, she won The Australian University Teaching Award in the Humanities and the Arts category. After working at UWA, Jones took up a position as professor within the Writing and Society Research Group at the University of Western Sydney. Her academic interests include gender and narrative theory, literary theory, postcolonial studies, cultural studies, creative writing, contemporary and Australian literature, and cinema studies.

Jones's short stories have appeared in numerous journals and have been highly praised for their linguistic richness and intellectual complexity, their subtle humour and intricate craftwork.

Jones has published seven novels to date (2018). Her structually complex debut novel Black Mirror was described by the judges of the Nita Kibble Literary Award as 'a witty interrogation of the problems faced by the biographer'. She followed this work with Sixty Lights, Dreams of Speaking, Sorry, Five Bells, A Guide to Berlin, and the forthcoming The Death of Noah Glass. Between them, her novels have won the Colin Roderick Award, the Nita Kibble Award (twice), the Western Australian Premier's Book Award (twice), the South Australian Premier's Award, the Barbara Ramsden Award, and the T.A.G. Hungerford Award, and have been shortlisted and longlisted for national and international prizes including the Miles Franklin Award and the Booker Prize. She won the Philip Hodgins Award (for a consistently outstanding Australian writer) in 2011.



Most Referenced Works

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon Our Shadows Melbourne : Text Publishing , 2020 19549463 2020 single work novel

'Our Shadows is a story about three generations of family living in Kalgoorlie, where gold was discovered in 1893 by an Irish-born prospector named Paddy Hannan, whose own history weaves in and out of this beguiling novel.

'Nell and Frances are sisters who are close enough in age to be mistaken for twins. Raised by their grandparents, they now live in Sydney. Each in her own way struggles with the loss of their parents.

'Little by little the sisters grow to understand the imaginative force of the past and the legacy of their shared orphanhood. Then Frances decides to make a journey home to the goldfields to explore what lies hidden and unspoken in their lives, in the shadowy tunnels of the past.' (Publication summary)

2021 shortlisted Voss Literary Prize
2021 shortlisted HNSA Historical Novel Prize Adult
2021 longlisted Miles Franklin Literary Award
2021 shortlisted Victorian Premier's Literary Awards The Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction
y separately published work icon The Death of Noah Glass Melbourne : Text Publishing , 2018 11873096 2018 single work novel

'The art historian Noah Glass, having just returned from a trip to Sicily, is discovered floating face down in the swimming pool at his Sydney apartment block. His adult children, Martin and Evie, must come to terms with the shock of their father’s death. But a sculpture has gone missing from a museum in Palermo, and Noah is a suspect. The police are investigating.

'None of it makes any sense. Martin sets off to Palermo in search of answers about his father’s activities, while Evie moves into Noah’s apartment, waiting to learn where her life might take her. Retracing their father’s steps in their own way, neither of his children can see the path ahead.

'Gail Jones’s mesmerising new novel tells a story about parents and children, and explores the overlapping patterns that life makes. The Death of Noah Glass is about love and art, about grief and happiness, about memory and the mystery of time.'

Source: Publisher's blurb.

2020 winner Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature Award for Fiction
2019 shortlisted Voss Literary Prize
2019 winner Prime Minister's Literary Awards Fiction
2019 shortlisted Colin Roderick Award
2019 longlisted Davitt Award Best Adult Crime Novel
2019 shortlisted Miles Franklin Literary Award
2019 shortlisted ASAL Awards ALS Gold Medal
2019 longlisted The Stella Prize
2019 shortlisted Victorian Premier's Literary Awards Fiction
y separately published work icon A Guide to Berlin North Sydney : Random House Australia , 2015 8588237 2015 single work novel (taught in 1 units)

'A Guide to Berlin” is the name of a short story written by Vladimir Nabokov in 1925, when he was a young man of 26, living in Berlin.

'A group of six international travellers, two Italians, two Japanese, an American and an Australian, meet in empty apartments in Berlin to share stories and memories. Each is enthralled in some way to the work of Vladimir Nabokov, and each is finding their way in deep winter in a haunted city. A moment of devastating violence shatters the group, and changes the direction of everyone's story.

'Brave and brilliant, A Guide to Berlin traces the strength and fragility of our connections through biographies and secrets. ' (Publication summary)

2016 shortlisted Voss Literary Prize
2016 shortlisted Western Australian Premier's Book Awards Fiction
2016 longlisted Davitt Award Best Adult Crime Novel
2016 longlisted Kibble Literary Awards Nita Kibble Literary Award
2016 shortlisted New South Wales Premier's Literary Awards Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
2016 longlisted Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Australian Literary Fiction Book of the Year
2016 longlisted The Stella Prize
2016 shortlisted Indie Awards Fiction
2016 recipient H. T. Priestley Memorial Medal
2016 winner Colin Roderick Award
2016 shortlisted Barbara Jefferis Award
Last amended 10 Dec 2020 10:25:45
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: