AustLit logo
Ian David Ian David i(A27281 works by)
Born: Established: Perth, Western Australia, ;
Gender: Male
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

Most Referenced Works


  • Biographical cuttings held at the National Library of Australia.

Personal Awards

2011 winner AWGIE Awards The Richard Lane Award
2007 inaugural winner AWGIE Awards Kit Denton Fellowship
2001 Centenary Medal For service to Australian society and Australian film production

Awards for Works

form y separately published work icon Three Acts of Murder Blood in the Sand ( dir. Rowan Woods ) 2009 Perth : Taylor Media , 2009 Z1503194 2009 single work film/TV crime

While working on a rabbit-proof fence in 1929, Australia's leading crime writer of the period, Arthur Upfield, began plotting the perfect murder for his 1931 novel The Sands of Windee. A discussion between Upfield and a fellow worker about finding a fool-proof means of disposing of a body to use in the novel was overheard by one of the author's friends, stockman 'Snowy' Rowles. Shortly afterwards Rowles murdered three men and put the scheme into effect. He was later charged by police, however, and the subsequent trial became one of Australia's most sensational during the 1930s.

2009 nominated Australian Film Institute Awards Best Telefeature, Mini Series or Short Run Series
form y separately published work icon The Shark Net ( dir. Graeme Burfoot ) Perth : Taylor Media , 2003 Z1035075 2003 series - publisher film/TV crime 'This is the story of one boy's journey to manhood. Of childhood games, teenage lust and adult sex. Of secrets and lies, fear and evil. Of family ties that bind forever and guilt that lasts a lifetime. And of the need to forgive. This is The Shark Net, a compelling, three-part series based on Robert Drewe's award-winning memoir about his early life growing up during the reign of one of Australia's most notorious serial killers. Though their lives take completely different turns, their paths cross; changing Robert forever.'

Source: Australian Television website,
Sighted: 01/08/2011
2004 shortlisted New South Wales Premier's Literary Awards Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting
2003 nominated Australian Film Institute Awards Best Telefeature or Mini-Series
2002 shortlisted Western Australian Premier's Book Awards Scripts
form y separately published work icon Blue Murder ( dir. Michael Jenkins ) Sydney : Southern Star Entertainment ABC Television , 1995 Z1359650 1995 series - publisher film/TV detective crime (taught in 1 units) This two part mini-series is based on the events that led to the Wood Royal Commission on Police Corruption in New South Wales (1996). It focuses on both the intricacies of corruption in the police force and the sometimes Byzantine behaviour and 'moral' codes of the organised crime world. Roger Rogerson, a larrikin detective with an egalitarian, blokey demeanour, builds a lucrative alternative career based on bribery, drug money, and murder. He join forces Arthur 'Neddy' Smith, one of Australia's most notorious underworld thugs who, by being the conduit between the police and the criminal underworld, has built an extensive drug empire in Australia. Their activities are threatened when a young police officer declines a bribe offered to him by the police chief. His refusal to engage in illegal activities results in an escalating war, with police and criminals committing increasingly desperate and murderous acts.
1996 winner Logie Awards Most Outstanding Achievement in Drama Production
1996 winner AFI Awards Australian Film Institute Awards Best Television Mini Series or Telefeature
1996 winner AFI Awards Australian Film Institute Awards Best Screenplay in a TV Drama
Last amended 13 Dec 2011 10:03:50
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: