AustLit logo
Alan Atkinson Alan Atkinson i(A41412 works by) (a.k.a. Alan Thomas Atkinson)
Born: Established: 1946 ;
Gender: Male
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'Professor Alan Atkinson teaches in the areas of colonial Australia, methods of history writing and public history. His research interests are centred on Australia up to the period of World War I, especially habits of thought and communication, family life, and law and order. His three volume work, The Europeans in Australia (Oxford University Press Australia) is a landmark work in Australian historiography, and won the Victorian Prize for Literature in 2015.' (Source: The Australian Academy of the Humanities website)

Most Referenced Works

Personal Awards

2016 inaugural winner ABR Patrons' Fellow RAFT Fellowship for 'How Do We Live With Ourselves?'
1993 recipient Australian Academy of the Humanities Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities
1988-1989 winner Ernest Scott Prize for Camden: Farm and Village Life in Early New South Wales

Awards for Works

y separately published work icon The Europeans in Australia : A History Melbourne : Oxford University Press , 1997 Z1178966 1997 reference non-fiction

'In the first volume of his history of Australia, Alan Atkinson covers the first impact of European power on Australia. He argues that the Europeans were not simply conquerors, that their own cultures were infinitely complex, thickly-woven with ideas about spirituality, authority, self and land, all of which influenced the development of Australia.' (Publication summary)

2016 shortlisted Western Australian Premier's Book Awards Non-Fiction For volume three.
2015 shortlisted Prime Minister's Literary Awards The Prime Minister's Prize for Australian History For volume three (Nation)
2015 shortlisted Colin Roderick Award For volume three (Nation)
2015 winner New South Wales Premier's Literary Awards Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction For volume three (Nation).
2014 winner Victorian Premier's Literary Awards Non-Fiction For volume three (Nation).
1997 winner NBC Banjo Awards NBC Banjo Award for Non-Fiction For volume 1 (The Beginning).
2005 winner Ernest Scott Prize Democracy
Last amended 10 Feb 2017 10:48:32
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: