AustLit logo
Unicorn Books Unicorn Books i(A55220 works by) (Organisation) assertion
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Unicorn Books was a short-lived cheap-paperback imprint established by Morry Schwartz in 1979, around the same time that he was winding down Outback Press. After setting up his own company, Schwartz Publishing Group Pty Ltd, he established Unicorn in order to publish a number of titles that were originally meant to be published by the Outback paperback imprint Circus Books. Possibly the first title to be published by Unicorn was Joyce Brothers's How to Get Whatever You Want Out of Life (1979). The following year, the company published around twenty more titles, with several of these being novelised adaptations of current television series (e.g., The Sullivans) or films (e.g., Fatty Finn). Other titles included An Illustrated History of the Kelly Gang (1980), What's Cooking with Ada (1980), Children's Sydney (1980), Wining and Dining in Bed (1980), and Frank Galbally for the Defence: The Krope Trial (1981).

Among the authors to have their works published by Unicorn were Keith Hetherington, Kenneth Cook, Terry Stapleton, Peter Fitzgerald, and Bob Jewson.

Unicorn Books is believed to have stopped publishing in 1981.

Further Reference

Schwartz, Morry. 'Case Study: Inner-Urban and Outback.' In Paper Empires: A History of the Book in Australia 1946-2005 (2006).

Most Referenced Works

Last amended 19 Aug 2011 15:31:46
Other mentions of "" in AustLit: