AustLit logo
ASA Medal ()
or Australian Society of Authors medal ()
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'Established in 2003, the ASA Medal is awarded biennially in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the Australian writing community. The medal complements the ASA's main focus as an advocate for the rights of authors and illustrators.' (Source: )

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)v1064

2014 joint winner Nadia Wheatley
2014 joint winner Valerie Parv
2012 recipient Robert Pullan
2009 recipient Hazel Edwards
2007 recipient Glenda Adams

Works About this Award

Undercover Susan Wyndham , 2007 single work column
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 22-23 September 2007; (p. 30)
Good Guys Get the Gong Rosemary Sorensen , 2003 single work column
— Appears in: The Courier-Mail , 27 May 2003; (p. 9)

In April 2003, to commemorate their fortieth birthday, the ASA (Australian Society of Authors), asked their members to select their favourite books. Members could select up to five books each. The results of the top forty books chosen (which appear in this newspaper piece) and of the inaugural ASA Medal won by Tim Winton were announced at the Society's fortieth birthday celebrations on 26 May, 2003. This column discusses Winton's popularity and other authors mentioned in the list.