AustLit logo
FAW (WA) Short Story Competition
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 1961

winner God in the Afternoon Griffith Wynne Watkins , 1990-1999 single work short story
— Appears in: God in the Afternoon : Selected Poetry and Fiction of Griffith Watkins 1990; (p. 13-19)

Mark Seville has recently been discharged from the hospital after a bone disease left one leg crippled. Feeling smothered by the attention around him, he flees to the ocean and rows out in a dinghy, where he rediscovers his peace.

Works About this Award

Out of the Bottom Drawer Gavin Casey , 1961 single work column
— Appears in: Overland , Summer (1961-1962) no. 22 1961; (p. 22-23)