AustLit logo
Melbourne Prize for Literature
Subcategory of Melbourne Prize
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Melbourne Prize runs on a three-year awards cycle, alternating between literature, music, and urban sculpture.


  • Awarded, by the Melbourne Prize Trust, every three years to a Victorian writer in recognition of outstanding literary achievement.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

Year: 2018

Year: 2015

winner And the World Was Calm i "Sandbags of sugar cannot conceal the gloomy fact", Chris Wallace-Crabbe , 1990 single work poetry
— Appears in: For Crying Out Loud 1990; (p. 38-39) The Penguin Book of Modern Australian Poetry 1991; (p. 190-191) The Oxford Book of Modern Australian Verse 1996; (p. 119-120) New and Selected Poems 2013; (p. 243-245)

Year: 2012

winner Alex Miller

Year: 2009

Works About this Award

Christos Tsiolkas Wins $60,000 Literary Award 2021 single work column
— Appears in: Neos Kosmos , November 2021;
Body of Work : Wallace-Crabbe Lands Top Literary Prize Jason Steger , 2015 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 12 November 2015; (p. 31)
A Miller's Tale Chris Weaver , 2013 single work column
— Appears in: Voice , 11 March - 8 April vol. 9 no. 3 2013; (p. 7)
Miller Wins Melbourne Literature Prize; Sherborne Wins Best Writing Prize 2012 single work column
— Appears in: Bookseller + Publisher Magazine , Summer 2012/13 vol. 92 no. 3 2012; (p. 7)