AustLit logo
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Formerly the AFI | AACTA Raymond Longford Award, the award was re-named the Longford Lyell Award in 2015, to recognise the involvement of Lottie Lyell in Australian film-making.


  • The Longford Life Achievement Award is for outstanding contribution to Australian film or television. 'This award is named in honour of Raymond Longford who was one of Australia's great filmmaking pioneers as well as an actor, director, writer and producer. Raymond Longford (1878 - 1959). Being one of the highest accolades the AFI can bestow on an individual, recipients of this award will have shown steadfast commitment and passion through their work - ultimately contributing to the enrichment of Australian culture.'

    From 1968 to 2010, the Longford Achievement Award was part of the AFI Awards; from 2011 onwards, the Award (known as the Raymond Longford Award) was presented under the auspices of the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts.

    Source: AFI website,
    Sighted: 12/12/2006

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

Year: 2019

winner Sam Neill

Year: 2017

Year: 2016

recipient Paul Hogan

Year: 2015

Works About this Award