AustLit logo
Australian Humanist of the Year Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'Selection is made by agreement among the State Humanist Societies with final endorsement by the Council of Australian Humanist Societies Inc. in recognition of the past achievements and we hope they all continue to be a strong voice for Humanism and its values into the future.' (Source:


  • 'In 1983 the Humanist movement in Australia initiated the practice of selecting each year an Australian who had demonstrated outstanding qualities of the type needed to advance mankind: this person is given the award of Australian Humanist of the Year.'

    Source: Council of Australian Humanist Societies website,
    Sighted: 05/06/2007

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2015

recipient Carmen Lawrence

Year: 2013

recipient Jane Caro

Year: 2011

Year: 2010

recipient Bob Brown

Year: 2009

recipient Julian Burnside