AustLit logo
Blake Poetry Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Blake Poetry Prize was established in 2008 by The Blake Society, in partnership with the NSW Writers’ Centre and sponsored by Leichhardt Council in NSW. It is an open poetry prize, for works of 100 lines or less. The prize aims to encourage Australian poets to engage in the dialogue between religion, spirituality and poetry.

It is one of two prizes established by The Blake Society (the other award is the Blake Prize, for art) that challenge artists and poets to investigate ideas and issues surrounding spiritual thought and religion in contemporary art and literature.

The Blake Society takes its name from William Blake, a visionary artist and poet. The Society aims to encourage artists of disparate styles, religious and spiritual allegiances to create significant works of art and poetry.

Source: Sighted: 3/12/2013.


2017 winner The Story of Julian Who Will Never Know We Loved Him i "there’s a drunk on the train spouting Kant", Julie Watts , 2018 single work poetry
— Appears in: Rochford Street Review , October 2017 - March no. 24 2018;
2014 winner Dave Drayton for Threnodials
2013 winner Appellations i "A semi-acoustic ballad", Anthony Lawrence , 2013 single work poetry
— Appears in: Blake Prize 2007;
2012 winner Altar Rock Graham Kershaw , 2012 sequence poetry
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2013 2013; (p. 116-117)
'Graham Kershaw's poem, "Altar Rock", addresses the mixed inheritance of white settlement in the Murchison district of WA. The actual Altar Rock, also known as Mass Rock, is where 1920's architect and priest, John Hawes, took communion to indigenous people who were reluctant to attend a church.'

Source: The Blake Prize website,
Sighted: 20/11/2012
2011 winner Via Negativa : The Divine Dark Robert Adamson , 2011 sequence poetry
— Appears in: Newswrite : The NSW Writers' Centre Magazine , October-November vol. 199 no. 2011; (p. 9) Award Winning Australian Writing 2012 2012; (p. 72-75) Net Needle 2015;
2010 winner Rahula i "That night, I imagine", Tasha Sudan , 2010 2010 single work poetry
— Appears in: Blake Prize 2007; Newswrite : The NSW Writers' Centre Magazine , October/November no. 193 2010; (p. 23) Award Winning Australian Writing 2011 2011;
2009 winner Four Ways to Approach the Numinous John Watson , 2009 2009 sequence poetry
— Appears in: Blake Prize 2007; The Best Australian Poems 2009 2009; (p. 212-219)
2008 inaugural winner Have You Seen i "The way the trees - that sclerophyll fraternity on the mountain - swarm", Mark Tredinnick , 2008 single work poetry
— Appears in: Wet Ink , Spring no. 12 2008; Fire Diary 2010; (p. 88)