AustLit logo
The S. D. Harvey Short Story Award
Subcategory of Ned Kelly Awards for Crime Writing
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The 2018 awards did not include this category.


  • Named to commemorate journalist Sandra Harvey (q.v.) the annual award is open to new and established writers for stories in either crime fiction or true crime (creative nonfiction telling a factual story using literary techniques).

    The Ned Kelly Awards website, (Sighted: 20/04/2009)

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2016

winner Flesh Roni O'Brien , 2016 single work short story
— Appears in: Kill Your Darlings , October no. 27 2016; (p. 131-141)

Year: 2015

winner Short-Term People Andrea Gillum , 2015 single work short story
— Appears in: Kill Your Darlings , October no. 23 2015; (p. 131-146) Award Winning Australian Writing 2016 2016; (p. 113-126)

Year: 2014

winner Web Design Emma Viskic , 2015 single work short story
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2015 2015; (p. 169-174)

Year: 2011

winner Hemisphere Travel Guides : Las Vegas For Vegans A. S. Patrić , 2011 single work short story crime

Year: 2010

winner Leaving the Fountainhead Zane Lovitt , 2010 single work short story crime
— Appears in: New Australian Stories Two 2010; (p. 279-292)

Works About this Award

About the Award and the Winner Lindsay Simpson , 2009 single work column
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 28 December 2009; (p. 9)