AustLit logo
Lost Man Booker Prize
Subcategory of The Booker Prize
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Lost Man Book Prize was a one-off award presented in 2010 to a book published in 1970.


  • 'The Lost Man Booker Prize is a one-off prize [offered in 2010] to honour the books which missed out on the opportunity to win the Booker Prize in 1970.'

    Source: Man Booker website: tp://
    Sighted: 01/02/2010

Latest Winners / Recipients

Works About this Award

From Ancient Greece to Centennial Park Peter Craven , 2010 single work column
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 8-9 May 2010; (p. 37)
Peter Craven casts an eye over the six contenders for the Lost Man Booker Prize. The shortlist includes two works by Australians - Shirley Hazzard's The Bay of Noon and Patrick White's The Vivisector.
Put It Back J. C. (fl. 2006-2010) , 2010 single work column
— Appears in: The Times Literary Supplement , 9 April no. 5584 2010; (p. 36)
Muriel Sparks a Hazzard Romance Jason Steger , 2010 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 2-3 April 2010; (p. 31)
A colum canvassing current literary news including a comment on Shirley Hazzard's shortlisting in the Lost Man Booker Prize. Jason Steger also notes the return of the journal Crime Factory - from 2010 it will be a joint Australian/US online production.
Man Booker Honour Its Lost Year Rosemary Sorensen , 2010 single work column
— Appears in: The Australian , 4 February 2010; (p. 17)
Duo Books Prize Spot 2010 single work column
— Appears in: The Courier-Mail , 27 - 28 March 2010; (p. 31)