AustLit logo
Patrick White Playwrights' Fellowship
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Sydney Theatre Company established the annual Patrick White Playwrights' Award in 2000.

In 2010, the Company established an additional prize, the Patrick White Playwrights' Fellowship, to recognise and support more established Australian playwrights. Both awards are designed to benefit both emerging writers and mid-career writers.

The year-long Fellowship, supported by a cash prize, is awarded for an established Australian playwright whose work has been produced professionally in Australia within the last four years. It recognises and rewards their body of work. Winning playwrights receive a commission to write a new play.

Source: Sighted: 3/12/2013.