AustLit logo
West Australian Young Readers' Book Award
or WAYRBA ; or Western Australian Young Readers' Book Award

The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The WAYRBA was established in 1970 and is voted on by young readers across Western Australia.

'The Award operates on three levels, Younger Readers, Picture Books and Older Readers.

'Readers are invited to nominate, through their libraries, books that they have enjoyed. These nominations are then considered by the WAYRBA committee and the three lists are drawn up.'

Source: 'About', WAYRBA website,

Sighted: 21/11/2014

N.B. Only Australian works are listed.

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)8093358