AustLit logo
Melbourne Yorick Club Competition
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Sponsored by the Yorick Club Melbourne, prizes were given for best short poem, essay, article or short work of fiction. The 1949 winners received 25 Guineas. Author's retained copyright in their manuscripts. 

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 1951

winner Fitzmaurice Hill for Hayfoot-Strawfoot

Year: 1949

winner Hal Richardson for So Long Happy