AustLit logo
Kennedy Awards
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Sponsored by NRMA.  Awards for news professionals in Australia's most competitive media markets, raising funds for colleagues in hardship via the Kennedy Foundation


  • The Kennedy Awards, recognising exellence in New South Wales Journalism, were established in honour of veteran journal Les Kennedy who died in August 2011. The awards were first held in 2012.

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)v2616

Year: 2014

winner (Excellence in NSW Journalism) Natalie O'Brien
winner (Outstanding finance reporting) Adele Ferguson
winner (Outstanding investigative reporting) Adele Ferguson
winner (Outstanding TV current affairs awards) Adele Ferguson
winner Paul Daley John Newfong Award for Outstanding Indigenous Affairs Reporting.
winner Paul Daley Peter Ruehl Award for Outstanding Columnist.

Works About this Award

Our Journalists Awarded 2014 single work column
— Appears in: The Sun-Herald , 10 August 2014; (p. 2)
Top Honours for Fairfax Journalists James Robertson , 2012 single work column
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 11-12 August 2012; (p. 2)