AustLit logo
Northern Territory Literary Awards
or NT Literary Awards
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The annual Northern Territory Literary Awards have celebrated the work of Northern Territory writers for more than 35 years. It is part of an ongoing program of events at the Northern Territory Library that celebrate the achievements of established and emerging writers, storytellers and prominent Territorians.' (

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)v1735

Year: 2018

winner (Creative Non-Fiction Award) Lolla Stewart for Of Eyes, Astronauts and Ants.

Year: 2017

winner (creative nonfiction) Kylie Stevenson for Notes from a dying town

Year: 2010

winner Renato Marocchini for Guilty

Year: 2009

Year: 2002

winner (Dymocks Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander) Yaritji Green For her story 'Fifty Seven'.

Works About this Award

Northern Territory Literary Awards Finalists Named Edwin Edlund , 2012 single work column
— Appears in: National Indigenous Times , 25 April no. 261 2012; (p. 32)
Northern Territory Literary Awards Break Record in 2011 2011 single work column
— Appears in: National Indigenous Times , 12 May vol. 10 no. 225 2011; (p. 48)
Crunch Time for Territory Writers 2010 single work column
— Appears in: Koori Mail , 27 January no. 468 2010; (p. 28)
'Northern Territory writers with an interest in creative and academic writing have until Saturday 31 January to get their entries in for the 2010 NT Literary Awards.' Source: Koori Mail no. 468, 27 January, 2010
NT News Marian Devitt , 1998 single work column
— Appears in: Overland , Summer no. 153 1998; (p. 75-76)