AustLit logo
Society of Women Writers, New South Wales, Awards
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


 The Society of Women Writers New South Wales Inc., established in 1925 and incorporated in 1987, is the longest-standing literary society in Australia.

'The Society administers a number of Awards and Competitions and conducts annual competitions for poetry, short stories, non-fiction as well as fiction and children's books.

Winners (also see subcategories)v1001

2012 winner Beyond Walls Susan McCreery , 2013 single work short story
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2013 2013; (p. 122-129)
2001 winner (Book Award) Poetry y separately published work icon Fleeting Light Lenore Rays , Stanmore : Sparrow Press , 2000 Z1093288 2000 selected work poetry
1996 winner (Short Story Award) Armadillo Paddy O'Reilly , 1997 single work short story
— Appears in: Southerly , Winter vol. 57 no. 2 1997; (p. 6-11) The End of the World 2007; (p. 62-72)
1995 winner (Children) y separately published work icon Way Home Libby Hathorn , Gregory Rogers (illustrator), Milsons Point : Random House , 1994 Z798083 1994 single work picture book children's (taught in 2 units) A young boy who lives in a hole in a wall in a big city makes a dangerous night trip to bring a stray cat back to his little cell for company.
1995 winner (Book Award for Poetry) y separately published work icon Emily Bronte Re-Collects and Other Poems Vera Newsom , Pymble : Angus and Robertson , 1995 Z467677 1995 selected work poetry
1995 winner (Book Award for Best Novel) y separately published work icon Streets of Dust : A Novel Based on the Life of Caroline Chisholm Lola Irish , Kirribilli : Eldorado Publishing , 1993 Z508515 1993 single work novel historical fiction

'A rich chronicle of Australia's early immigrants and Caroline Chisholm, the woman who dared to challenge the upper-class bureaucracy of the day.' (Trove)

1995 joint winner (Book Award for) y separately published work icon Tasma : The Life of Jessie Couvreur Patricia Clarke , St Leonards : Allen and Unwin , 1994 Z468043 1994 single work biography
1994 (Alice Award) Mem Fox
1992 winner (Marjorie Barnard Literary Award) y separately published work icon A Change of Skies Yasmine Gooneratne , Chippendale : Picador , 1991 Z193541 1991 single work novel
1991 winner (Hilarie Lindsay Award) y separately published work icon Belle the Bushie Pat Richardson , Rozelle : Gumleaf Press , 1990 Z88288 1990 selected work short story
1983 winner (Charles Meeking Award for Poetry) Towards a Non-Sexist Mode of Thinking i "My father's house is green", Gail Maria Hennessy , 1987 single work poetry
— Appears in: Meeting Place , no. 20 1987; (p. 15)
1980 winner (Poetry Competition) For My Father i "Always wanted to see Kiandra", Gail Maria Hennessy , 1980 single work poetry
— Appears in: Quadrant , October vol. 24 no. 10 1980; (p. 72) A Spin of Gold Wattle : A Selection of the Prize and Published Poetry Written since 1975, by Members of the Society of Women Writers in Australia 1982; (p. 51)