AustLit logo
The Age Book of the Year Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Age Book of the Year Awards were annual literary awards presented by Melbourne's The Age newspaper.  First presented in 1974, the awards were discontinued in 2013. 

They were then revived in 2021 through a partnership between The Age and Melbourne Writers' Festival.

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)v1128

Works About this Award

Days of Plunder : Tale of Our City Wins Age Book Prize Jason Steger , 2012 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 24 August 2012; (p. 6)
Words of Great Worth Robyn Annear , David Day , Lyn McCredden , Peter Pierce , Lucy Sussex , 2012 single work column
— Appears in: The Saturday Age , 4 August 2012; (p. 30-31)
This column comprises the judges' comments on the shortlisted works for the 2012 Age Book of the Year Award. (The list includes three titles, outside the scope of AustLit, by James Boyce, Paul Ham and Jane Gleeson-White.)
Compelling Tale of Society in Sydney Makes Its mark Jason Steger , 2011 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 26 August 2011; (p. 5)
Tatt Winning Feeling Matt Buchanan , Scott Ellis , 2011 single work column
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 26 August 2011; (p. 16)
The Picks of the Crop Jo Case , Chris Flynn , Morag Fraser , David McCooey , Maria Tumarkin , 2011 single work column
— Appears in: The Saturday Age , 6 August 2011; (p. 26-27)
The judges of the 2011 Age Book of the Year Awards comment on each of the fifteen shortlisted titles. Morag Fraser and Maria Tumarkin comment on the non-fiction titles, David McCooey on the poetry titles and Jo Case and Chris Flynn on the fiction titles.