AustLit logo
Tom Collins Poetry Prize
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Tom Collins Poetry Prize is an annual competition inaugurated by FAWWA in 1975 in memory of Australian author Joseph Furphy (1843 - 1912) who wrote under the name Tom Collins.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2020

winner Maddie Godfrey for 'Unmade'.

Year: 2019

winner Michael Greenacre for 'Missing Pieces'.

Year: 2018

winner Chris Konrad for 'Busted Piano Man'.

Year: 2017

winner Andy Kissane For 'Rock the Baby'.
winner August Burns the Sky like Rubber i "A fist of dough, sunlight fallen", Mindy Gill , 2017 single work poetry
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2017 2017; (p. 191-193)

Year: 2015

winner Jennifer Kornberger for Sisters, with Cabbages