AustLit logo
Montague Grover Memorial Competition
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Montague Grover Memorial Competition was held In memory of the late Montague Grover . His widow. Mrs. Regina Grover awarded a prize on 12 guineas for one-act plays, short stories or poems. The first competition was for a one-act play.  The rules stated that the author's nom-de-plume must be enclosed with the entry. The competition was conducted by the Australian Journalists' Association and the Melbourne Centre of the International PEN Club.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 1979

winner (Cadet journalists) Geraldine Brooks

Year: 1949

winner Jocelyn S. Perkins for a radio play entitled Stormbird.

Year: 1947

winner (Poetry) Death in the Air i "One grey-green wing of the Douglas nuzzled the cloudwrack,", T. Inglis Moore , 1957 single work poetry
— Appears in: Bayonet and Grass 1957; (p. 14-16)

Year: 1946

winner (Essay Prize) Henry Lawson as Craftsman A. A. Phillips , 1948 single work criticism
— Appears in: The Australian Tradition : Studies in a Colonial Culture 1958; (p. 1-17) The Australian Tradition : Studies in a Colonial Culture 1966; (p. 1-16) On Native Grounds : Australian Writing from Meanjin Quarterly 1967; (p. 63-72) Henry Lawson Criticism 1894-1971 1972; (p. 281-294)

— Appears in: Meanjin , Winter vol. 7 no. 2 1948; (p. 80-90) Twentieth Century Australian Literary Criticism 1967; (p. 181-193)
Phillips rejects the view that Lawson's prose lacks technical virtuosity. Phillips argues that Lawson's aim was not to tell a story, but to evoke the quality of Australian living. Lawson's spare narratives, effective understatement and ironic twists within a symmetrical structure produce stories of substantial artistic value.

Year: 1945

winner Frederick Howard for 'Personnel'