AustLit logo
Patrick White Award
or Patrick White Literary Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Patrick White Award is an annual literary prize. The award was established in 1975 to advance 'Australian literature by encouraging the writing of novels, short stories, poetry and/or plays for publication or performance'. Rather than being awarded for an individual work, the award acknowledges writers who have made a significant contribution to Australian literature.

White used the funds from his 1973 Nobel Prize in Literature award to establish the philanthropic trust that supports this prize.

Source: Sighted: 15/11/2013.


2020 winner Gregory Day
2019 winner Jordie Albiston
2018 winner Samuel Wagan Watson
2017 winner Tony Birch
2016 winner Carmel Bird
2015 winner Joan London
2014 winner Brian Castro
2013 winner Louis Nowra
2012 winner Amanda Lohrey
2011 winner Robert Adamson
2010 winner David Foster
2009 winner Beverley Farmer
2008 winner John Romeril
2007 winner David Rowbotham $25,000
2006 winner Morris Lurie
2005 winner Fay Zwicky
2004 winner Nancy Phelan
2003 winner Janette Turner Hospital
2002 winner T. A. G. Hungerford
2001 winner Geoff Page
2000 winner Thomas Shapcott
1999 winner Gerald Murnane
1998 winner Alma De Groen $20 000 prize money awarded.
1997 winner Vivian Smith
1996 winner Elizabeth Harrower
1995 winner Elizabeth Riddell
1994 winner Dimitris Tsaloumas
1994 winner Rosemary Dobson
1993 winner Amy Witting
1992 winner Peter Cowan
1991 winner David Martin
1990 winner Robert Gray
1989 winner Thea Astley
1988 winner Roland Robinson
1987 winner William Hart-Smith
1986 winner John Morrison
1985 winner Judah Waten
1982 winner Bruce Beaver
1981 winner (Contribution to Australian Literature) Dal Stivens
1980 winner Bruce Dawe
1979 winner Randolph Stow
1978 winner Gwen Harwood
1977 winner Sumner Locke Elliott
1976 winner John Blight
1974 winner Christina Stead