AustLit logo
image of person or book cover 921529164415130672.jpg
The Gold and Silver Walkley Awards
Walkley Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Walkley Awards were established in 1956 by Ampol Petroleum founder Sir William Gaston Walkley. Awards were made in five categories, all of which rewarded excellence in print journalism.

Over the years, the Walkleys have expanded to encompass broadcast and digital journalism, as well as recognising and rewarding innovation. A two-tier judging system, modelled on the methods used to award the Pulitzer Prize, was introduced.

Walkley Award-winning stories have chronicled Australia’s history, people and events. There are now 34 categories, including the Gold Walkley Award.

The awards are officially entitled The Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

Source: Sighted: 29/11/2013.

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)v1446

Year: 2018

winner (Walkley Foundation’s Women’s Leadership in Media Award) y separately published work icon Unbreakable : Women Share Stories of Resilience and Hope Jane Caro (editor), St Lucia : University of Queensland Press , 2017 11475838 2017 anthology autobiography

'In this revealingly honest collection, successful Australian women talk about the challenges they have overcome, from sexual assault and domestic violence to racism, miscarriage, depression and loss, and how they let the past go to move forward with their lives. Courageously, the contributors delve deep into how these experiences made them feel, what the personal cost was and why they may have chosen to remain quiet until now. 

'In a time when bragging about sexual assault doesn’t preclude being elected President of the United States, women must stand together and speak out against violence against women. Unbreakable shows that every woman, no matter her success, has a story, and that together we are stronger. 

'In Jane Caro’s words:

        I want to pass on courage and hope to women who have also gone through such things by all of us speaking up about our own experiences. These things do not need to either define us or destroy us. We can find the strength to move forward, and this book shows how successful women have done just that.

'Contributors include Kathy Lette, Mariam Veiszadeh, Tracey Spicer, Lee-Ann Tjunypa Buckskin, Rebecca Lim, Kerryn Goldsworthy, Susan Wyndham, Andie Fox, Dee Madigan, Catherine Fox, Zora Simic, Nina Funnell, Sandra Levy, Polly Dunning and Jacinda Woodhead, with a foreword by Tanya Plibersek.' (Publication summary)

Year: 2016

winner Dan Box with digital producer Eric George in the categories of Radio News and Current Affairs Journalism; Radio Documentary, Feature, Podcast or Special; and Investigative Journalism.

Year: 2015

recipient (Sports Journalism Award) Chris Garry

Year: 2013

winner Sinking Below Sight Sinking Below Sight : Down and Out in Brisbane and Logan Melissa Lucashenko , 2013 single work essay
— Appears in: Griffith Review , 1 June no. 41 2013; (p. 52-67)

'Four years ago I moved with no great enthusiasm and a troubled child to Logan City, one of Australia's ten poorest urban areas...'

joint winner (All Media Social Equity Journalism) Sarah Whyte with Ben Doherty for a series on the Bangladesh garment makers supplying Australians with cheap clothing.
winner Caroline Wilson for commentary, analysis and opinion
winner (Excellence in documentaries) form y separately published work icon First Footprints Bentley Dean , Martin Butler , Tania Nehme (editor), Peter Donoughue (editor), ( dir. Bentley Dean et. al. )agent Artarmon : Screen Australia , 2013 7352315 2013 film/TV

'First Footprints tells the story of the original pioneers for all humankind, a history that began in Australia tens of thousands of years before modern humans reached America or Europe. The series draws on the collective memory of Indigenous Australians, the latest archaeological discoveries and the rich record of over 30 million prehistoric painted and etched rocks. Along with evocative recreations, elegant CGI, grand landscape and a wealth of rare archival footage the series will expand our ideas. Sweeping from 60,000 years ago to 1788, each episode begins and ends with a cataclysmic event that transforms life in Australia.' (Source: TROVE)

Year: 2007

winner Cathy Wilcox For her cartoon 'Uncovered Meat'.

Works About this Award

Fairfax Journalists Snap up Awards for Excellence 2016 single work column
— Appears in: The Saturday Age , 3-4 December 2016; (p. 2)
Newsmen Honoured for Indigenous Deaths Stories 2016 single work column
— Appears in: The Weekend Australian , 3-4 December 2016; (p. 2)
Walkley for Compelling Bowraville Podcast Darren Davidson , 2016 single work
— Appears in: The Australian , 5 December 2016; (p. 23)
Oz Talent on Display in Walkley Award Finals 2016 single work column
— Appears in: The Australian , 21 October 2016; (p. 2)
Fairfax Writers Recognised at Walkley Awards for Journalism 2015 single work column
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 4 December 2015; (p. 2)