AustLit logo
Nobel Prize in Literature
Subcategory of Awards International Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


In May 2018, it was announced that after a series of resignations and public scandal, no prize would be awarded in 2018: instead, two laureates will be named in 2019.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2003

J. M. Coetzee 'who in innumerable guises portrays the surprising involvement of the outsider' -- The Swedish Academy citation, 2 October 2003.

Year: 2000

Year: 1973

Patrick White 'for an epic and psychological narrative art which has introduced a new continent into literature'.

Works About this Award

Diary Poem : Uses of the Nobel Prize i "In her comment on my poem about Borges in Geneva", Jennifer Maiden , 2020 single work poetry
— Appears in: Cordite Poetry Review , 1 February no. 95 2020;
Wool, Cotton, Silk i "The Nobel Prize for Literature, awarded to", Joyce Parkes , 2018 single work poetry
— Appears in: Not Very Quiet , March no. 2 2018;
Towards Joy Anwen Crawford , 2017 single work essay
— Appears in: The Best Australian Essays 2017 2017; (p. 302-309)