AustLit logo
New South Wales Writer's Fellowship
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The NSW Writer’s Fellowship was offered annually by the NSW Government to assist the writing of a new literary work by a writer living in NSW.

It is awarded based on:

  • The originality of the proposal;
  • Ability to engage the reader;
  • Professional skills and experience;
  • The potential impact of the fellowship on the applicant's writing career;
  • The extent to which the proposed new work will advance writing in Australia.

(Hills Shire Times, 7 June 2011, p16)

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2018

Year: 2011

Year: 2010

Ceridwen Dovey $20,000 to work on a collection of short stories exploring the limits of human empathy.

Year: 2009

Anna Funder $20,000 award to be used for the writing of a novel tentatively titled 'The General's Pleasure', based on the relationship between Matthew Flinders and his jailer, General Charles de Caen.

Year: 2007

Works About this Award

Compton's Second Coming Anne Susskind , 1995 single work biography
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 18 September 1995; (p. 14)