AustLit logo
image of person or book cover 4947945281611511459.jpg
Dromkeen Medal
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Dromkeen Medal is an annual award, established in 1982, and presented by the Governors of the Courtney Oldmeadow Children’s Literature Foundation.

This award is made annually to an Australian citizen for a significant contribution to the appreciation and development of children’s literature in Australia.

The Dromkeen Medal was designed by Robert Ingpen and depicts the Dromkeen homestead, a sickle moon and boughs of wattle.

The presentation is made in March to commemorate the birth date of the late Courtney Oldmeadow.

Source: Sighted: 26/11/2013.


2018 winner John Marsden
2016 winner Alison Lester
2014 winner Helen Chamberlin
2012 Patricia Mullins
2011 Libby Gleeson
2010 Shaun Tan
2007 Patricia Edgar
2006 Walter McVitty
2005 Roland Harvey
2004 Margaret Hamilton
2003 Ivan Southall
2002 Ann James
2001 Julie Watts
2000 Paul Jennings
1999 Barbara Ker Wilson
1998 Graeme Base
1996 Belle Y. Alderman Awarded in recognition of Alderman's writing, lecturing and contribution to the preservation of Australia's heritage of children's books through the development of the Lu Rees Archives
1994 Alfred R. Mappin
1994 Agnes Nieuwenhuizen
1992 Julie Vivas
1991 Robin Klein
1990 Mem Fox
1989 Robert Ingpen
1988 Patricia Scott
1987 Joan Phipson
1986 Albert Ullin
1985 Anne Bower Ingram
1984 Patricia Wrightson
1983 H. M. Saxby