AustLit logo
Redmond Barry Award
Subcategory of ALIA Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Redmond Barry Award is issued by Australian Library and Information Association. Established in 1973, the Award is peer-nominated and honours outstanding contribution to the library and information services sector by an individual who is not eligible for associate or library technician membership.

The award is named after Sir Redmond Barry, 1813 – 1880, who is regarded as the founder of the State Library of Victoria.

The award is selectively indexed.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2016

Year: 2015

Year: 1997

Year: 1996

winner Barry Jones

Year: 1994