AustLit logo
The Booker Prize
or Booker Prize (UK) ; or The Booker Prize for Fiction ; or The Man Booker Prize
Subcategory of Awards International Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Booker Prize was established in 1969, and is awarded to a novel written in the English language and published in the United Kingdom. The writer normally needs to be from a country within the Commonwealth.

It has previously been known as the Booker-McConnell Prize (1969-2011) and the Man Booker Prize (2002-2019).

The Booker Prize is complemented by The International Booker Prize.


  • Established by Booker plc in 1968, the prize name was chaged in 2002 to 'Man Booker Prize' to coincide with the sponsorship provided by the Man investment group. The prize aims "to reward the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or Republic of Ireland".

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)v2199

Year: 2014

winner y separately published work icon The Narrow Road to the Deep North Richard Flanagan , Sydney : Random House , 2013 Z1928536 2013 single work novel historical fiction (taught in 5 units)

'A novel of the cruelty of war, and tenuousness of life and the impossibility of love.

'August, 1943. In the despair of a Japanese POW camp on the Thai-Burma death railway, Australian surgeon Dorrigo Evans is haunted by his love affair with his uncle's young wife two years earlier. Struggling to save the men under his command from starvation, from cholera, from beatings, he receives a letter that will change his life forever.

'This savagely beautiful novel is a story about the many forms of love and death, of war and truth, as one man comes of age, prospers, only to discover all that he has lost.' (Publisher's blurb)

Year: 2010

Year: 2010

Year: 2009

Year: 2008

winner y separately published work icon The White Tiger Aravind Adiga , London : Atlantic Books , 2008 Z1521556 2008 single work novel (taught in 2 units) 'Balram Halwai is a complicated man. Servant. Philosopher. Entrepreneur. Murderer. Over the course of seven nights, by the scattered light of a preposterous chandelier, Balram tells the terrible and transfixing story of how he came to be a success in life -- having nothing but his own wits to help him along.' (Publisher's blurb)

Works About this Award

Eligibility, Access and the Laws of Literary Prizes Alexandra Dane , 2020 single work criticism
— Appears in: Australian Humanities Review , May no. 66 2020;

'The ability of literary prizes to sway literary tastes and shape cultural discourse has long been explored through the decisions made by the prize judging panel. The jury of experts, who bring with them symbolic capital and are often regarded as representing a nation’s sophisticated literary palate, have been the subject of extensive scholarship. However, there is a selection process that occurs prior to the commencement of the official or public adjudication. The entry guidelines for individual literary prizes ensure that particular authors and titles will not, or cannot, be considered for the prize and are, therefore, excluded from the symbolic and economic rewards that come with being shortlisted for and winning a literary prize. How do literary prize eligibility requirements limit access to the prestige and promotion that comes with a literary prize? How does the issue of exclusivity influence the ways prizes run, the winners that are chosen and, ultimately, the field-wide conceptions of prize-winning writing?' (Introduction)

Australian Author Shokoofeh Azar Shortlisted for International Booker Prize with Novel Inspired by Iranian History and Folklore Claire Nichols , 2020 single work column
— Appears in: ABC News [Online] , April 2020;

'In 2011 the writer Shokoofeh Azar found herself in a strange country, with a strange dilemma.' 

Man Booker Prizewinners Criticise Decision to Allow US Writers to Enter Sian Cain , 2018 single work
— Appears in: The Guardian Australia , 9 July 2018;

'Peter Carey and Julian Barnes have shared their doubts about the future of the Man Booker prize over its decision to allow American writers to enter, with Carey calling it “an exercise in global corporate branding” and Barnes labelling it “daft”.'  (Introduction)

Man Booker Prize Longlist 2016 : Adelaide Uni's JM Coetzee Vying to Win for Third Time Latika Bourke , 2016 single work column
— Appears in: Brisbane Times , 28 July 2016;
'...Coetzee's The Schooldays of Jesus has been named in the 2016 longlist alongside four authors with debut novels: David Means (Hystopia), Virginia Reeves (Work Like Any Other), Ottessa Moshfegh (Eileen) and Wyl Menmuir (The Many). ...'
Richard Flanagan Sorts Suffering from Virtue Barry Gittins , Jen Vuk , 2014 single work review
— Appears in: Eureka Street , 10 November vol. 24 no. 22 2014;

— Review of The Narrow Road to the Deep North Richard Flanagan , 2013 single work novel