AustLit logo
The Alice Award
or The Alice Literary Award
Subcategory of Society of Women Writers, New South Wales, Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Alice Literary Award is presented to an Australian woman who has made a distinguished, long-term contribution to Australian Literature. The award is in the form of a trophy and it is presented biennially. The winner is chosen after consultation with all state branches of the Society.'

Source: Society of Women Writers.


2018 winner Sally Odgers
2016 winner Clare Wright
2014 winner Libby Hathorn
2012 winner Susanna De Vries
2010 winner Christobel Mattingley
2008 winner Brenda Niall
2006 winner Rosemary Dobson
2004 winner Margaret Scott
2002 winner Kate Grenville
2000 winner Jill Shearer
1998 winner Kathryn Purnell
1996 winner Patsy Adam-Smith
1994 winner Mem Fox
1992 winner Elizabeth Jolley
1990 winner Nance Donkin
1988 winner Nancy Cato
1986 winner Ruth Park
1984 winner Kylie Tennant
1982 winner Mary Durack
1980 winner Judith Wright
1978 inaugural winner Eleanor Dark