AustLit logo
The Joanne Burns Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The precise form that The joanne burns Award will take each year may change. For the past two years, for instance, the Spineless Wonders prose poem/microfiction competition has called for submissions with a maximum of 800 word limit. In future years, The joanne burns Award may be for other brief forms, such as nanofiction or for blended, genre-bending prose poem or poetic prose forms yet to be developed.

'The theme of each year’s joanne burns Award will also vary. Some years the theme may be open whilst in others, such as in the 2012 Australian icons competition, the theme will be specified.

'As in previous years, the competition will be blind judged according to the criteria set out in the Terms and Conditions. The joanne burns Award judge for each year, along with the competition parameters, will be announced in the first half of each year.

'The joanne burns Award will carry a monetary reward as well as an offer of publication for those pieces judged to be the highest quality entries in our annual competitive cull.' (Source :

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

winner (Hunter category) Deborah Van Heekeren
winner (National category) Jane O'Sullivan

Year: 2019

winner (National category) Kate Rees for 'No White M&Ms'.
winner (Hunter category) Shaynah Andrews for 'The Ocean Has Made Promises'.

Year: 2018

winner (National category) Brenda Saunders for 'Birding'.
winner (Hunter category) Jan Dean for 'Fish Flops and Flaps'.

Year: 2017

winner (National category) Tess Pearson For 'Traces'.
winner (Hunter category) Luke Evans for 'You Can't Go Home Again'

Year: 2016

winner Koi Karen Whitelaw , 2016 single work short story
— Appears in: Award Winning Australian Writing 2016 2016; (p. 146-147)