AustLit logo
Frederick Watson Fellowship
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Frederick Watson Fellowship commemorates the life and work of Dr Frederick Watson. The fellowship was designed to help established scholars complete an innovative research project


  • Established by the National Archives of Australia, the fellowship is awarded annually to an individual interested in conducting research substantially utilising the Archives collection. More than one fellowship may be awarded.

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2013

recipient Alison Holland

Year: 2012

recipient Gwenda Tavan

Year: 2011

recipient Michelle Arrow

Year: 2010

recipient Peter Copeman
recipient Susan Lever

Year: 2009

Works About this Award

Academic Plays with Griffins' Legacy Sally Pryor , 2011 single work column
— Appears in: The Canberra Times , 29 January 2011; (p. 12)