AustLit logo
Inside Film Awards
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


The Inside Film Awards (now known as the IF Awards) is an annual awards ceremony and broadcast platform for the Australian film industry, established by Stephen Jenner and David Bardaby, the founders of Inside Film (aka IF Magazine). The event is held in November each year, and is broadcast on SBS television and showtime movie channels. The awards, first given in 1999, are determined by a national audience poll as opposed to the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards (AACTA), which are judged by industry professionals.

Between 1999 and 2006 the IF Awards were also known as the Lexus Inside Film Awards in recognition of its principal sponsor, Lexus. Since then the major sponsors have included Kodak (2009-2010) and Jamieson's Whiskey (2011). The awards have been on 'hold' since 2012.


  • People's choice awards for Australian films, sponsored by Inside Film magazine.

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)v1779

Year: 2007

Stephen Hagan For Best Short Documentary, Gold Coast for Nigger Lovers.

Year: 2005

winner (Best Short Film) form y separately published work icon Green Bush Warwick Thornton , ( dir. Warwick Thornton ) CAAMA Productions , 2005 Z1262751 2005 single work film/TV (taught in 1 units) Over one heartbreaking night, radio DJ Kenny discovers that his job at an Aboriginal radio station is about more than just playing music. He jokes that his programme is broadcast to a captive audience, namely the local prison.

Year: 2004

winner (Living Legend) John Clark

Year: 2004

winner (Best Script) form y separately published work icon Somersault More Than Scarlet Cate Shortland , ( dir. Cate Shortland ) Australia : Red Carpet Productions , 2004 Z1153215 2004 single work film/TV (taught in 2 units)

'A visually haunting story of an adolescent girl's discovery of the difference between sex and love in the winter landscape of an Australian ski resort town.'

Source: Screen Australia.

Year: 2003

winner (Best Script) form y separately published work icon The Rage in Placid Lake Tony McNamara , ( dir. Tony McNamara ) Australia : Rapacious Pictures , 2003 Z1061504 2003 single work film/TV humour

'Placid Lake is a kid who follows his instincts; follows them so far they lead him to convalescing in a full body cast and pondering whether following your heart is good for your health. Deciding it isn't, he must take the road more travelled. Be normal, fit in. Even if it kills you.'

Source: Screen Australia. (Sighted: 4/12/2013)

Works About this Award

Cash Crunch Puts IF Awards in Mothballs Michael Bodey , 2012 single work column
— Appears in: The Australian , 18 April 2012; (p. 15)
The audience-voted Inside Film Awards will be postponed for a year due to a squeeze in Sydney for sponsorship and reduced funding options.
Actor in Shock I.F. Victory Vicky Roach , 2010 single work column
— Appears in: The Courier-Mail , 15 November 2010; (p. 9)
Samson and Delilah Leads IF Awards Nominations Alyssa Braithwaite , 2009 single work column
— Appears in: National Indigenous Times , 15 October vol. 8 no. 188 2009; (p. 10)
Samson and Delilah Wins Garry Maddox , 2009 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 19 November 2009; (p. 12)
Joel Adds Winning Chapter to Home Stories Sandy George , 2007 single work column
— Appears in: The Weekend Australian , 17-18 November 2007; (p. 5)