AustLit logo
Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards Subcategory of Australian Academy of the Humanities
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The Fellowship of the Academy comprises more than 500 distinguished individuals elected by their peers in recognition of the excellence and impact of their scholarship in fields including archaeology, art, Asian and European studies, classical and modern literature, cultural and communication studies, languages and linguistics, philosophy, musicology, history and religion.

'There are three categories of Fellow, including voting Fellows, Overseas Fellows and Honorary Fellows. The approved abbreviation for all Fellows is FAHA.

'Honorary Fellows are distinguished public figures who advocate for the humanities, practitioners of the arts, overseas scholars in the humanities who have a close association with Australia, or Australian-based scholars who have made substantial contributions to the humanities throughout their careers.

Electoral Process

'Fellows are elected to the Academy through a rigorous peer nomination process. Fellows of the Academy may nominate candidates for election each year, and after a lengthy referral and assessment process, the eleven disciplinary sections vote by secret ballot on the proposed candidates. Council then meets to consider the list of candidates to be included on the final ballot, and voting is undertaken by the Fellowship at the Annual General Meeting each November. Successful candidates must be resident in Australia at the time of their election.

'Candidates for Honorary Fellowship are proposed directly by Council and are elected by the Fellowship at the Annual General Meeting. Residency in Australia at the time of election is not a requirement for Honorary Fellows.' ( )