AustLit logo
Margaret Dooley Young Writer's Award
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Supported by Eureka Street the Margaret Dooley Award is offered to support the development of young writers aged 30 years or under as of the submission deadline.



  • Sponsored by Eureka Street this award has been made possible by the Dooley family, in memory of Margaret Dooley, who died in 2004.
    The annual award of $2000 is open to any writer, previously published or unpublished, under the age of 40. Entrants must submit two previously unpublished articles that offer:
    * ethical reflection directed to a non-specialist audience on any serious topic,
    * appeal to humane values, such as those that are found within, but are not exclusive to, the best of the Christian tradition,
    * clear argument and elegant expression,
    * generosity and courtesy of spirit animating forceful argument.
    One article should be of no more than 800 words. The second should be of no more than 2000 words. They may take up the same, or different, topics.

    Inaugural year of the award was 2005

    (Source: Sighted 8/11/05

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)14094408

Year: 2013

winner Slow Down, You're Just in Time Megan Graham , 2013 single work essay
— Appears in: Eureka Street , 20 September vol. 23 no. 18 2013; (p. 41-45)

Year: 2007

Year: 2006

Year: 2005

inaugural winner The Book or the World? Sarah Kanowski , 2005 single work essay
— Appears in: Eureka Street , November-December vol. 15 no. 8 2005; (p. 16-17)
Explores the relationships between ethics and life writing, and between readers and writers of biographies.