AustLit logo
David Scott Mitchell Memorial Fellowship
Subcategory of State Library of New South Wales Fellowships
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


'The David Scott Mitchell Fellowship encourages and supports the use of the Mitchell Library's collections for the study and research of Australian history. The David Scott Mitchell Fellowship was established in 2007 through the generous benefaction of Edward John Merewether, great-great-nephew of David Scott Mitchell. The Fellowship celebrates the centenary year of Mitchell’s bequest of his collection to the Library.' (Source : )


  • 'The principal purpose of the David Scott Mitchell Fellowship is to encourage and support the use of the Mitchell Library's collections for the study and research of Australian history in writing and publication amongst scholars, researches and the wider community, including internaionally.'

    The award was first offered in 2008.

    Source: State Library of New South Wales website,
    Sighted: 30/09/2008

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2020

recipient Jarrod Hore for Grounding Colonial Science: William Branwhite Clarke in the field 1839–78

Year: 2019

recipient Isobelle Barrett Meyering for ' Pipi Storm Theatre Company: A Cultural History of Children’s Rights'.

Year: 2017

recipient Robert Crawford for his project, ‘Probing the Consumer’s Mind: The Ashby Research Service and the Post-war Australian Market’

Year: 2016

recipient Russell McGregor for his project: Bush Naturalist: a life of Alec Chisholm.

Year: 2015

recipient Gabriela Zabala for her project: Left, radical & unacknowledged: the unpublished New Theatre plays of Jim Crawford.