AustLit logo
ASA Mentorship
or Australian Society of Authors Mentorship
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


  • 'The ASA offers 20 mentorships each year for talented writers and picture book illustrators in the areas of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, Young Adult, graphic novels, children's writing and picture book illustration.'

    Source: Australian Society of Authors website,
    Sighted: 03/06/2009

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

recipient (Children's and YA) Kay Crabbe
recipient (Children's and YA) Inda Ahmad Zahri
recipient (Children's and YA) Bianca Breen
recipient (Children's and YA) Polly Jude
recipient (Picture Book Illustration) Jenny Hale
recipient (Picture Book Illustration) Yvonne Low
recipient (Fiction) Trish Bolton
recipient (Fiction) Jennifer Castles
recipient (Fiction) Dawn Crabb
recipient (Fiction) Katelin Farnsworth
recipient (Fiction) Kylie Hough
recipient (Fiction) Kylie Ladd
recipient (Fiction) Rhonda Roberts
recipient (Fiction) Yichen Shi
recipient (Fiction) Esme Wilmot
recipient (Narrative Nonfiction) Madelaine Dickie
recipient (Narrative Nonfiction) Sam Elkin
recipient (Poetry) Kelley Swain

Year: 2020

recipient (Children's and YA) Julie Paine
recipient (Children's and YA) Tami Sussman

Year: 2019

recipient Andy Muir
recipient Annabel Smith
recipient Michael Uniacke
recipient Violet Kieu
recipient Tom de Souza
recipient Helen Bradwell
recipient Kathryn Hore
recipient Pamela Rushby
recipient Lucie Stevens
recipient Carmel Summers

Year: 2014

recipient Tamara Pratt
recipient Belinda J. Rule
recipient Rebecca Poulson

Year: 2013

recipient Christina Armstrong (poetry)
recipient Allison Browning (fiction)
recipient Aoife Clifford (crime fiction)
recipient Kathryn Gossow (fiction)
recipient Rachel Leary (historical fiction)
recipient Susan McCreery (short story collection)