AustLit logo
John D. Criticos Prize
Subcategory of Awards International Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


  • 'The Criticos Prize addresses itself to creative works of Greek: history, literature, classical studies, art, archaeology and philosophy written in the English language by prominent authors, irrespective of their nationality.

    'The Prize is annual and is open to works published in the English language within each calendar year.'

    Source: John D. Criticos Prize website,
    Sighted: 19/10/2010

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2010

winner y separately published work icon Ransom David Malouf , North Sydney : Knopf Australia , 2009 Z1529380 2009 single work novel (taught in 20 units) 'With learning worn lightly and in his own lyrical language, David Malouf revisits Homer's Iliad. Focusing on the unbreakable bonds between men - Priam and Hector, Patroclus and Achilles, Priam and the cart-driver hired to retrieve Hector's body. Pride, grief, brutality, love and neighbourliness are explored.' (Publisher's blurb)