AustLit logo
Montreal International Poetry Prize
Subcategory of Awards International Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


  • 'The Montreal International Poetry Prize is a non-profit organization comprised of an Advisory Board, an Editorial Board, a Prize Judge, directors and interns. The editors and prize judge are chosen anew each year. The staff is comprised of poetry lovers with diverse backgrounds who want to get poets together from all over the world in the spirit of fun and competition, to consider the various Englishes of the world and to think of poetry in global terms.'

    Source: The Montreal Prize website,
    Sighted: 24/10/2011

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2011

inaugural winner Walking Underwater i "There is this quietness that hangs over North America.", Mark Tredinnick , 2011 single work poetry
— Appears in: 2011 Global Poetry Anthology : Montreal International Poetry Prize 2012; (p. 75-76)

Works About this Award

Poet Claims Major International Prize Susan Wyndham , 2012 single work column
— Appears in: Blue Mountains Gazette , 4 January 2012; (p. 15)
Australian Poet Wins $50,000 Prize 2011 single work column
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 17-18 December 2011; (p. 4)
Poet Walks Away with Major International Prize Susan Wyndam , 2011 single work column
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 19 December 2011; (p. 10)
Undercover Marc McEvoy , 2011 single work column
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 22-23 October 2011; (p. 31)
A column canvassing current literary news including the appointment of Deena Shiff as the new chairwoman of the Sydney Writers' Festival. Marc McEvoy also notes the inaugural Speculative Fiction Festival at the New South Wales Writers' Centre (to be held on 5 November 2011) and the longlist for the Montreal Prize for poetry (the list includes Australian poets including Mark Tredinnick).