AustLit logo
NBC Banjo Awards
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


  • The National Book Council Award for Australian Literature was renamed the NBC Banjo Awards in 1988. The awards were chiefly commercially sponsored. An award for Fiction and an award for Non-Fiction were announced annually excepting 1988 when one award was announced with a winner and runner-up. A Poetry Prize was instituted in 1990, a New Writers' Award, 1988 - 1991, and the Lysbeth Cohen Memorial Prize honoring the Jewish contribution to Australian writing and biography, 1990-1993. The awards were discontinued in 1998. Some works not normally indexed by AustLit are included on the database in order to fully list Award recipients.

Latest Winners / Recipients (also see subcategories)v1336

Works About this Award

Editorial Helen Daniel , 1999 single work column
— Appears in: Australian Book Review , June no. 211 1999; (p. 1)
And the Finalists Are... 1997 single work column
— Appears in: The Sydney Morning Herald , 23 August 1997; (p. 11s)
Record Entry for Banjo Fiction Award 1997 single work column
— Appears in: The West Australian , 21 August 1997; (p. 6)
Where Have All the Sponsors Gone? Caroline Baum , 1997 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 23 April 1997; (p. C6)
Author Takes Big Step in the Right Direction Andrew Clark , 1997 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 26 September 1997; (p. A8)