AustLit logo
Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature
Subcategory of Australia Council Grants, Awards and Fellowships
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


This award was previously known as the Writers' Emeritus Award. It was re-named in 2012 as the Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature. The award was not presented in 2014.


  • 'The $50,000 award is presented annually to recognise "the achievements of eminent writers who have made outstanding and lifelong contributions to Australian literature". In previous years, the award was called the Australia Council for the Arts' Writers' Emeritus Award.'

    Source: Australia Council website,
    Sighted: 22/11/2012

Latest Winners / Recipients

Year: 2021

Year: 2020

Year: 2019

Year: 2018

Year: 2017

Works About this Award

Awards Honour Australian Artists Annabel Ross , 2016 single work column
— Appears in: The Age , 1 March 2016; (p. 31)
Keneally Collects His Sweetest Award of All Stephen Romei , 2015 single work column
— Appears in: The Australian , 9 March 2015; (p. 3)
'TOM Keneally has received the highest accolades in his 50-year writing career, including the Booker Prize and two Miles Franklins, but he judges the latest, an Australia Council lifetime achievement award, the sweetest of all.'
A Ragged Pair of Claws Stephen Romei , 2013 single work column
— Appears in: The Weekend Australian , 9-10 November 2013; (p. 19)