AustLit logo
The Bulletin Novel Competition
Subcategory of Awards Australian Awards
The material on this page is available to AustLit subscribers. If you are a subscriber or are from a subscribing organisation, please log in to gain full access. To explore options for subscribing to this unique teaching, research, and publishing resource for Australian culture and storytelling, please contact us or find out more.


Offered by the Bulletin with cash prizes of first prize of £5OO and two of £2OO between them. Further, stories that didn't win a prize may have been regarded as worthy of serial publication. Competitors could enter more than one story. Each entry had to have its own nom-de-plume.




1932 winner y separately published work icon No Escape Velia Ercole , 1931 Z1248737 1931 single work novel

'The setting of "No Escape" is a small township in New South Wales, once a goldminers' paradise, now the unprogressive centre of a pastoral district. An Italian doctor named Leo Gherardi, settled there with his wife Teresa and their small son Leo, had been forced to leave Italy for political reasons just at the beginning of a promising career in medicine. His wife in accompanying him temporarily gave up a brilliant future on the concert platform. But both were convinced that absence from their beloved Italy would only be an unpleasant interlude during which they would save money to have Leo's case reviewed and his sentence annulled. This hope alone buoyed them up when they began life in the township of Banton.'


'An Italian Doctor's Life in Australia', The Sydney Morning Herald, 8 April 1932, p.4.

1929 winner y separately published work icon The Passage Vance Palmer , London : Stanley Paul , 1930 Z99150 1930 single work novel
1928 joint winner y separately published work icon Coonardoo : The Well in the Shadow Katharine Susannah Prichard , 1928 Z1081769 1928 single work novel (taught in 39 units) Set in North-West of Western Australia, it describes life on cattle stations and the relationship between the white owner of the station and Coonardoo, an Aboriginal woman. Submitted under the name Jim Ashburton.
1928 joint winner A House Is Built M. Barnard Eldershaw , 1929 single work novel historical fiction Submitted under the name Faith Sydney